The Communist Party of India (Marxist), some other political parties, scientists and activists have joined hands to set up a national committee to support the struggle against the proposed Jaitapur nuclear project in Maharashtra. A 15-member national committee in support of the Jaitapur Struggle will have CPI(M) general secretary Prakash Karat, his Communist Party of India counterpart A.B. Bardhan, former Atomic Energy Regulatory Board Chairman Dr. A. Gopalkrishnan and former Union Finance Secretary S.P. Shukla as members.

The other members are Lok Jan Shakti Party chief Ram Vilas Paswan, Sitaram Yechury of the CPI(M), D. Raja and Prakash Reddy of the CPI, Nama Nageswara Rao of the Telugu Desam Party, Danish Ali of Janata Dal (Secular), Vivek Monteiro of the Centre of Indian Trade Unions, N.D. Patil of the Peasants and Workers' Party, Bhai Vaidya of the Socialist Party (India), Pravin Gavankar of the Janhit Seva Samiti, and Sulabha Brahme of the Konkan Bachao Samiti.

“The people of Jaitapur and the surrounding areas in Ratnagiri district have been struggling against the setting up of the giant nuclear project which will have six nuclear reactors bought from the French Areva company. This project has displaced farmers and mango orchards. The livelihood of thousands of fishermen is threatened,” said the CPI(M) in a statement, adding, “There is a serious threat to the ecology and environment of the region”