Staff Reporter

Maps for seven zones approved

New maps to be submitted within 10 days

The issue to be taken up on November 19

NEW DELHI: The Delhi Development Authority Board on Tuesday cleared the zonal plans for seven zones of the Capital subject as per the Master Plan for Delhi 2021 but subject to incorporation of ground realities in the zonal maps.

The zones whose plans have been cleared are: K-2 (Dwarka), M (Rohini), C (Civil Lines), D (New Delhi), E (East Delhi), L (West and Outer Delhi) and F (South Delhi).

During the Board meeting chaired by Delhi Lieutenant-Governor, non-official member Mahabal Mishra suggested that the changes that have taken place in these areas since 2001 but have not been shown in the maps prepared for the MPD-2021 should be incorporated. The suggestion was accepted by the Lieutenant-Governor.

The new maps, incorporating the ground realities, would be submitted to the Board within 10 days and the issue would again be taken up in the next meeting on November 19.

No displacement

It was also suggested that while acquiring the village land for a project, landowners should be offered the existing market rate. However, no infrastructure project should be conceived in a manner that requires displacement of people in “Lal Dora” areas and the 1,071 unauthorised colonies which are to be regularised. Further, it was suggested that the land acquired in villages and unauthorised colonies should be used for creating common facilities. All the suggestions were accepted by the Lieutenant-Governor.