Legal Correspondent

New Delhi: The Supreme Court on Monday approved the quota and fee structure agreements entered into between the Karnataka Private Medical and Dental Colleges Association and the Karnataka government on sharing of seats for medicine, dental, engineering and other professional courses in government and private colleges during 2008-2009.

A Bench comprising Justice B.N. Agrawal and Justice G.S. Singhvi gave its nod to the agreement, and asked the parties to go ahead with admissions for the undergraduate courses on the basis of the agreement.

According to the agreement for undergraduate courses, private medical colleges will fill 60 per cent seats and surrender 40 per cent seats to the Government. The corresponding ratio will be 65:35 for dental colleges and 55:45 for engineering colleges.

While seats in private colleges will be filled through a Common Entrance Test (CET) conducted by the Consortium of Private Medical, Engineering and Dental Colleges of Karnataka (COMED-K), seats in government colleges will be filled on the basis of a CET conducted by a State agency. A similar agreement has also been entered for admissions to postgraduate courses, but with a different percentage and fee structure.

The fee for the government CET candidates is Rs. 35,000 for medical, Rs. 25,000 for dental and Rs. 25,000 for engineering courses. For COMED-K candidates, the fee will be Rs. 3.25 lakh (upper limit) for medical, Rs. 2.3 lakh (upper limit) for dental and Rs. 1.25 lakh (upper limit) for engineering courses.

It was agreed upon to have only two rounds of counselling for the government CET candidates. After the final round, all the seats which remain unfilled would revert to the respective associations/institutions, for appropriate counselling for its general merit category, or filled by the respective colleges as may be decided by the associations/respective colleges.

The application said that the admission process required to be completed within the time frame stipulated by the Medical/Dental Council of India.