Today's Paper Archive Classifieds Subscriptions RSS Feeds Site Map ePaper Mobile Apps Social

41 km of Delhi Metro Phase-III will be underground

Staff Reporter
Share  ·   print   ·  

Three tunnel stretches to pass below existing underground metro corridors of the city

Around 40 per cent of the proposed network of Phase-III of the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation will be built underground, including three tunnel stretches that will pass below existing underground metro corridors of the city.

“The first phase of Delhi Metro's construction had 13.17 km of underground metro lines, while the second phase had 34.89 km, while Phase-III alone will have 41.044 km,” said a DMRC spokesperson.

While Delhi Metro has a total of 31 underground stations at present, Phase-III is expected to have 28 underground stations.

“The decision to construct more underground corridors was taken to ensure that construction work causes minimum inconvenience to people. With more underground stretches, DMRC will also be able to avoid causing damage to existing infrastructure such as flyovers and roads,” added the spokesperson.

The longest underground section of Phase-III will measure 17.288 km, stretching from Indira Gandhi International Airport (domestic) to Kalkaji on the Janakpuri West-Kalindi Kunj corridor.

The Mukundpur-Yamuna Vihar corridor will have underground lines measuring 14.386 km while the Central Secretariat-Kashmere Gate corridor will have a total of 9.370 km of underground lines.

“Work on the underground [tunnel] stretches passing below existing underground corridors will be done through tunnel boring machines, new Austrian tunnelling method and stations will be constructed with the help of the cut and cover technology,” said the spokesperson.

The underground stretch from Sarojini Nagar to INA on the Mukundpur-Yamuna Vihar corridor will pass below the underground INA section of the Jehangirpuri-HUDA City Centre line.

Similarly, the underground stretch connecting IGI airport's domestic terminal (T2) to Kalkaji on the Janakpuri West-Botanical Garden line will pass below the underground Hauz Khas section of the Airport Express link on the Jehangirpuri-HUDA City Centre line.

The third stretch is the one from Mandi House to ITO on the Central Secretariat-Kashmere Gate line, which will pass below the Mandi House underground section of the Noida-Dwarka corridor.

The third phase of Delhi Metro is important for the Capital as it will provide connectivity to almost the entire city. DMRC is presently conducting initial tests such as geo technical surveys, soil surveys and utility tests through specialised agencies on all the underground corridors.

The Central Secretariat-Kashmere Gate line will have a total of 9.370 km underground, with seven underground stations. It will pass through Central Secretariat, Janpath, Mandi House, ITO, Delhi Gate, Jama Masjid, Lal Quila and Kashmere Gate. Tenders have been finalised for construction of the Mandi House and Janpath stations on this line, said the DMRC spokesperson.

The 14.386 km- long underground stretch on the Mukundpur-Yamuna Vihar corridor in Phase-III will have nine underground stations including Azadpur, Bhikaji Cama Place, Sarojini Nagar, INA, South Extension, Lajpat Nagar, Srinivaspuri, Ashram and Hazrat Nizamuddin.

The underground stretch on the Janakpuri West-Kalindi Kunj corridor will measure 17.288 km and cover the areas of Palam, IGI domestic airport, Vasant Vihar, Munirka, R.K. Puram, IIT, Hauz Khas, Panchsheel Park, Chirag Delhi, Greater Kailash Enclave, Nehru Place and Kalkaji.

There will be a total of 12 underground stations on this corridor.

The number of inter change stations will increase in Phase-III to facilitate faster travel for commuters and reduce burden on the existing interchange stations.

  • Phase-III to have 28 underground stations

  • The longest underground section will measure 17.288 km




    Recent Article in NEW DELHI

    Tracing Buddhism through The Maitreya Chronicles

    Drawing inspiration from the myths surrounding the MahayanaSchool of Buddhism, journalist Charu Singh has penned a book titled... »