Ten candidates are left in the fray for the Moga Assembly by-election in Punjab, slated for February 23, as the last date for withdrawal of nominations closed on Saturday evening.

Gurbachan Singh, an Independent, withdrew from the contest leaving 10 in the fray, an Election Office spokesman said here. Prominent among those in the race are Joginderpal Jain of the Shiromani Akali Dal, Vijay Kumar Sathi of the Congress and Ravinder Singh of Sanjha Morcha.

The by-poll was necessitated after Mr. Jain joined the Akali Dal. - PTI