The Mayyil Idoozhi Madhavan Namboodiri Smaraka Government Higher Secondary School has won the Radio School Panchayat programme in which some 20 schools in Kannur and Kasaragod districts competed. The programme was jointly organised by the Kerala Institute of Local Administration (KILA) and Akashavani Kannur. The names of the winners were announced by KILA Director P.P. Balan here on Friday. The team that represented the school comprised students A.V. Anushree and T.K. Anjali and teacher coordinator P. Dileep Kumar. The team would be presented a cash prize of Rs.50,000, a trophy, and a merit certificate.

The Karivellur A.V. Smaraka Government Higher Secondary School and the Durga Higher Secondary School at Kanhangad shared the second prize in the competition, conducted on March 1.

While A. Aravind and Sourav T. Nair represented the former, K. Aswanth Krishnan and M.S. Anjali represented the latter. Sukumaran Periyavur and T.V. Pradeep Kumar were their respective teacher coordinators.

Dr. Balan said the prizes would be presented to the winners by Union Minister of State for Civil Aviation K.C. Venugopal at Gandhi Park at Payyannur at 5 p.m. on March 31.

Nearly 400 students from the two districts participated in the programme. The coordinator of the programme was Akashavani Kannur unit programme executive K. Balachandran.