Tenure of committee up to June 2014

The United Democratic Front panel has won the elections held to the executive committee of Kerala Agricultural University (KAU) here on Saturday.

The KAU general council meeting elected MLAs Thomas Unniyadan (Kerala Congress-M) and I.C. Balakrishnan (Congress); P.A. Salam of the Indian Union Muslim League; Sony Sebastian (Congress); and Baby Balamprath (Janata Dal-Socialist) as non-official members and Jose Joseph (teachers’ representative) to the Executive Committee (Syndicate) of the university.

Vice-Chancellor P. Rajendran chaired the special meeting of the general council.

As many as 38 members of the 49- member council exercised their franchise.

E.K. Mathew, KAU Registrar, was the returning Officer.

The former Executive Committee headed by the Vice-Chancellor consisted of M.P. Vincent, MLA; secretaries to the Government in Finance and Agriculture; and N.V. Nair, representative of the Indian Council for Agricultural Research.

The tenure of the new Executive Committee is up to June 2014.

The general council also constituted statutory subcommittees such as Statute Committee, Assurance Committee, and Accounts Committee.

P.A. Ramanibai will head the Statute Committee while I.K. Raveendraraj and S. Devanesan will be the chairmen of the Assurance Committee and Accounts Committee respectively.

Mary Regina and K. Gireendrababu were nominated to the University Welfare Fund Trust committee.