Two more standing committee members of the Congress in the Thrissur District Panchayat resigned on Saturday.

P.S. Mohandas of the Public Works standing committee and Sheela Padmanabhan of Development standing committee had resigned from the respective committees.

Development standing committee chairman Anil Akkara had resigned on Thursday alleging lack of cooperation from the Opposition in the development works of the district panchayat.

It is said that the resignations were part of a political strategy of the Congress to capture the Public Works standing committee, which is currently chaired by Vidhya Sangeeth of the CMP.

In a press conference here on Saturday, Mr. Akkara sought the resignation of Opposition leader P.K. Davis.

Mr. Akkara alleged that the Opposition leader had been raising corruption charges against district panchayat members without any basis.

“Even his party members are not supporting his allegation. He is raising such baseless allegation for some personal gains,” Mr. Akkara alleged.

‘Works progressing'

Meanwhile, District Panchayt President K.V. Dasan said that he had not sent any complaint to the Lokayukta about the alleged corruption in the on-going construction of roads.

Denying media reports, Mr. Dasan said on Saturday that no decision was taken in this regard. “The development projects of the district panchayat for 2011-12 have been progressing well. The State-District Nirmithi Kendras are doing the works,” he said.

  • Resignation of Opposition leader P.K. Davis sought

  • ‘No complaint sent to Lokayukta over corruption charge'