Tsunami relief projects on course

print   ·   T  T  
K.P. Rajendran, Revenue Minister, says works will be over by March 31.
K.P. Rajendran, Revenue Minister, says works will be over by March 31.

Special Correspondent

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Revenue Minister K.P. Rajendran on Wednesday said work on the residual tsunami rehabilitation projects, estimated to cost Rs.323.15 crore, would be completed on schedule by March 31, 2010.

Addressing a press conference here, Mr. Rajendran said the ADB-assisted Rs.245.46-crore Tsunami Emergency Assistance Project had been successfully completed by October 31 this year. The State had spent Rs.824.85 crore out of the Rs.1148 crore allocated by the Centre for the second phase of the tsunami rehabilitation programme.

Giving an overview of the various projects implemented under the scheme, the Minister said the State government would not focus on livelihood issues beyond the project period that ends on March 31, 2009. The Revenue Department, in association with other departments participating in the tsunami rehabilitation project, will sponsor a major campaign ‘Santhwanathira’ across nine coastal districts to highlight its achievements and to commemorate the fifth anniversary of the tsunami onslaught. The Revenue Minister will launch the campaign at Kumbala in Kasaragod on December 18. Various programmes will be held at important centres in the nine coastal districts, with the highlight being a major function for handing over the keys of completed houses on December 26 at Mudhak in Kollam district.

Mr. Rajendran said the government was making all attempts to settle certain issues related to the tsunami project, particularly land acquisition. He was confident that the State would be able to complete the project despite these minor issues.

He said land acquisition for the MN and EMS housing schemes would also be brought under the fast track mechanism.




Recent Article in KERALA

Kanam elected CPI Kerala secretary

Kanam Rajendran, national executive committee member of the CPI, has been elected new secretary of its Kerala unit at the 22nd State conf... »