Top leaders of major political parties will tour the district to campaign for candidates for the Lok Sabha election.

Congress president Sonia Gandhi or party vice president Rahul Gandhi may reach the district to campaign for the United Democratic Front (UDF) candidate in Palakkad Lok Sabha constituency M.P. Veerendrakumar.

Their programmes were yet to be finalised, the UDF election campaign managers said.

Defence Minister A.K. Antony will campaign in the district on April 2, and Chief Minister Oommen Chandy on April 3. Union Minister for Non Resident Indian Affairs Vayalar Ravi will campaign in Palakkad on April 6. Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee vice president V.D. Satheeshan, Home Minister Ramesh Chennithala will campaign here on March 26.

CPI (M) Polit Bureau member Brinda Karat will arrive in the district on April 2 to campaign for LDF candidates M.B. Rajesh in Palakkad and P.K. Biju in Alathur Lok Sabha constituencies. Another Polit Bureau member of the party Sitaram Yechuri will be here on April 5. Polit Bureau members Kodiyeri Balakrishnan and S. Ramachandran Pillai will also campaign in the district.

Leader of the Opposition V.S. Achuthanandan will campaign for the LDF candidates on April 3.

BJP Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi is likely to campaign for his party candidate Sobha Surendran in Palakkad, party sources said.