Staff Reporter

KANNUR: Three schoolteachers will be given the `Innovative Teacher Award' instituted jointly by the North Malabar Chamber of Commerce (NMCC) and Ajith Balakrishnan Foundation (ABF) at a function here on March 3.

Announcing this at a press conference here on Tuesday, NMCC president Maheshchandra Baliga said one teacher each from primary, middle and high schools in the district were selected for the award.

The award carries a purse of Rs.1 lakh each. The names of the teachers would be announced at the award ceremony at the Chamber Hall at 9.30 a.m. on March 3.

A cash award of Rs.10,000 each would be given to teachers adjudged second and third in each of the three categories, he said.

The award would be presented by Health Minister P.K. Sreemathy at the function. chairman Ajith Balakrishnan had conceived the idea of the annual innovative teacher award.

Mr. Balakrishnan, a schoolteacher's son, would explain the concept of innovative teacher at the function.

Mr. Baliga said the winners were selected on the basis of their innovative teaching performance.

154 applicants

There were 154 applicants. The winners were selected from a list of 54 teachers by a group of experts.

Mr. Baliga said the judging committee evaluated that teachers of Government schools were more innovative in teaching than private schools.