: Sree Narayana College won the Jimmy George Trophy for overall performance in sports and games under the Kannur University for the 13th year in succession.

A press release issued by the college said the college has won the trophy since its inception by the university in 2000. The college also won the P.P. Lakshmanan Endowment for the best college football team consecutively for the eighth time.

Sree Narayana College has a total tally of 15 championships and 10 runner-up positions in various inter-collegiate sport events during the academic year 2012-13. In the men’s category the college won the championship in football, hockey, wrestling, ball-badminton, weight-lifting, power-lifting, judo, cricket, body-building and kalaripayattu. In the women’s category, it won the top position in tennis, hockey, ball badminton, kalaripayatu and gymnastics, the release said.

Agriculture Minister K.P. Mohanan awarded the trophy and the endowment to college Principal Sivadasan Thirumangalath at a function held at the university seminar hall on Saturday. Vice-Chancellor M.K. Abdul Khader presided. Head of the Department of Physical Education K. Ajayakumar was also present. Earlier this year, the college won the South India inter-collegiate football championship. The team’s coach is K.V.Dhanesh, former national player.