Thespian S. Ramanujam has been selected for the S.L. Puram Sadanandan Puraskaram for 2013, Minister for Cultural Affairs K.C. Joseph has said.

The Minister said in a release here on Thursday that Mr. Ramanujam was being honoured by the award instituted in memory of playwright S.L. Puram Sadanandan in view of his contributions as a playwright, director, and instructor of theatre.

Mr. Ramanujam had dedicated his life to developing and nurturing children’s theatre. The award comprises Rs.1 lakh, a citation and a memento.

Mr. Ramanujam was selected by a committee headed by Akademi chairman Nataraja Krishnamoorthy; A.A. Chandradasan; director Joshy Mathew, Sahitya Akademi secretary R. Gopalakrishnan, and Culture Secretary Rani George.