Staff Reporter

Thrissur: The Thrissur Fast Track Court One judge K. Ravindra Babu on Thursday sentenced seven BJP activists to rigorous imprisonment for seven years for attempting to murder DYFI Pariyaram panchayat secretary P. C. Manoj on February 24, 2003.

Mele Veettil Joby, 24, the first accused; Murinkkumpuratu Rajesh, 30, second accused; Kutholi Shiju, 28, fourth accused; Mangalapally Viswambharan, 43, fifth accused; Konthelpilly Selvarajan, 28, sixth accused; and Themalipparambil Shaji, 36, seventh accused, were tried for offences under sections 143 (unlawful assembly), 147 (rioting), 307 (attempt to murder), 324 and 326 (causing hurt by dangerous weapons or means) of the Indian Penal Code.

The eighth accused, Konnakuzhi Thayyil Shaji, 36, was tried for offences under section 109 (punishment for abetment) of IPC. The judge also slapped a fine of Rs. 5,000 each on the accused.

The third accused, Ratheesh, died before the trial.

The prosecution said the murder attempt followed an altercation between Manoj and Shaji.

According to the police, Manoj was involved in circulating posters accusing Shaji of criminal activities.

Public prosecutor M. L. Varghese appeared for the prosecution.