Staff Reporter

Defeated candidates do not attend meeting

Prominent district leaders boycott meeting

‘No point in holding discussion without KPCC president’

PALAKKAD: The District Congress Committee (DCC) that met here on Tuesday to discuss the poll outcome is learnt to have decided to ask the Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) to inquire into the circumstances that had led to the defeat of the party candidates in the Palakkad and Alathur Lok Sabha constituencies.

The meeting rejected the offer by DCC president A.V. Gopinath to step down from the post owning moral responsibility for the defeat of the party candidates, Satheesan Pacheni in Palakkad and N.K. Sudheer in Alathur.

Some prominent leaders of the party in the district boycotted the meeting, including both the MLAs from the district, C.P. Mohammed and K. Achuthan, KPCC secretary P.J. Paulose and the former DCC president V.S. Vijayaraghavan.

KPCC executive committee members K.A. Chandran, V.C. Kabeer, V.K. Sreekhandan, C.V. Balachandran and INTUC district president K. Appu are among those who attended the meeting.

The leaders who boycotted the meeting are learnt to have taken a stand that there was no point in holding the meeting in the absence of the KPCC president or other leaders to oversee the discussion.

The defeated candidates also did not attend the meet.

‘Unholy nexus’

Those opposed to the DCC president alleged that an “unholy nexus with the rival political forces” for personal gains by a section in the party was affecting the growth of the Congress in the district. Unless this problem was solved, the party would face same fate in the coming local body and Assembly elections, they warned.