Christian managements reject proposal

The Fee Regulatory Committee for Professional Colleges has fixed the fee structure for 17 self-financing medical colleges in the State from academic year 2010-11 to 2012-13.

The minimum annual fee proposed is Rs.2.54 lakh while the maximum rate is Rs.2.73 lakh.

The fee structure in each college: Amala Institute of Medical Sciences, Thrissur (Rs. 2.54 lakh); Pushpagiri Institute of Medical Sciences, Thiruvalla (Rs. 2.61 lakh); Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church Medical College, Kolencherry (Rs. 2.63 lakh); Jubilee Mission Medical College, Thrissur (Rs. 2.73 lakh); MES Medical College, Perinthalmanna (Rs. 2.70 lakh); Karuna Medical College, Palakkad (Rs. 2.54 lakh); Sree Gokulam Medical College, Thiruvananthapuram (Rs. 2.73 lakh); SUT Medical College, Thiruvananthapuram (Rs. 2.54 lakh); Dr. Somervell Memorial CSI Medical College, Karakkonam (Rs. 2.55 lakh); Kannur Medical College, Kannur (Rs. 2.54 lakh); Academy of Medical Sciences, Pariyaram (Rs. 2.54 lakh); Co-operative Medical College, Kochi (Rs. 2.54 lakh); Azeezia Medical College, Kollam (Rs. 2.54 lakh); KMCT Medical College, Kozhikode (Rs. 2.54 lakh); Sree Narayana Institute of Medical Sciences, Ernakulam (Rs. 2.57 lakh); Travancore Medical College, Kollam (Rs. 2.58 lakh); and Malabar Medical College, Atholi, Kozhikode (Rs. 2.54 lakh).

Meanwhile, the Kerala Christian Medical College Managements' Federation has rejected the fee structure for self-financing medical colleges. George Paul, coordinator of the federation, said here on Tuesday that the fee structure announced by the committee would have no bearing on the managements, as the Kerala High Court had allowed them to collect an annual tuition fee of Rs.3.5 lakh in 2011-12.

He said the managements had collected the same fee last year. Mr. Paul said that the decision taken by the committee had no value. It could be also considered as contempt of court.

  • Panel fixes fee for 17 self-financing colleges
  • Minimum Rs.2.54 lakh, maximum fee, Rs.2.73 lakh