President Pranab Mukherjee will present the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman awards, the highest honour conferred on overseas Indians, at the valedictory session of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas here on January 9.

Addressing a meet-the-press programme here on Saturday, Vayalar Ravi, Union Minister for Overseas Indian Affairs, said 15 persons would be selected for the award.

The names would be announced at the 11th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas, the annual diaspora conclave, scheduled to begin here on Monday.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh will inaugurate the programme on January 8. Rajkeswur Purryag, President of Mauritius, will be the chief guest on the occasion.

Mr. Ravi said the theme of this year’s Pravasi Bharatiya Divas was ‘Engaging Diaspora – The Indian Growth Story’. K.V. Thomas, Union Minister of State for Food and Consumer Affairs, will deliver the keynote address.