2010 local body poll candidates failed to submit expense statement on time

The State Election Commission has disqualified for five years 10,872 persons who contested the local body elections in 2010 for failing to submit their election expenditure statement within the stipulated time.

State Election Commissioner K. Sasidharan Nair said here on Friday that 9146 persons had been disqualified as per the provisions of the Panchayati Raj Act and 1,726 persons as per the Municipalities Act. The disqualified persons would not be able to contest the local body elections for five years from March 1.

The disqualified comprises 159 persons who contested to the district panchayats, 834 who to the block panchayats, 8,153 to the grama panchayats, 1,140 to the municipalities and 586 to the corporations. Thiruvananthapuram district tops the list of disqualified with 1,408 persons. This includes 248 who contested to the corporation, 87 to the municipalities 15 to the district panchayat, 85 to the block panchayat, and 975 to the grama panchayats.

Kasaragod has the lowest with 271, including 61 who contested to the municipalities, nine to the district panchayat, 31 to the block panchayats and 170 to the grama panchayats.

The following are the details of the disqualified in other districts. Kollam: 1,044; Pathanamthitta: 547; Alappuzha: 867; Kottayam: 808; Idukki: 419; Ernakulam: 1,121; Thrissur: 900; Palakkad: 660; Malappuram: 1,176; Kozhikode: 994; Wayanad: 272; and Kannur: 385.

Of the 70,988 candidates, the commission had served notices on 30,000 to furnish the statement of expenditure.