The final voters' list for the Piravom Assembly constituency will be ready by February 29.

Inspection and hearing on applications seeking inclusion in the voters' list will be completed by February 25. Originally, this was scheduled to be completed in March.

Decision pending

Final decision is pending on about 3,500 applications. The constituency had 1,75,995 voters during the 2011 Assembly election. Of this, 87,326 were men and 88,669 women.

The number of voters stood at 1,76,429 in the draft voters' list prepared in October. However, 4,948 names were removed either on account of death or on being found to be not living within the constituency limits.

With the addition of 2,648 new voters, the number of voters rose to 1,78,869 as per the final list published on January 1. The number is expected to exceed 1.80 lakh once the close scrutiny being underway is over.

The constituency is made up of Thiruvankulam, Kanayannur, Mulanthuruthy, Amballoor, Edakkattuvayal, Kaippattoor, Maneedu, Piravom, Ramamangalam, Memury, Onakkoor, Thirumaradi, Ilanji, and Koothattukulam villages. There will be 134 polling stations in 81 centres. Most number of booths will be in Piravom (15) and the least in Ramamangalam and Onakkoor (six each).