Staff Reporter

KOCHI: Swadeshi Science Movement (SSM), the Kerala Chapter of Vijnana Bharati, received the Jawaharlal Nehru Prize for 2005-2006 for popularisation of science.

This is the first time that a Kerala-based NGO is being honoured with the award instituted by Indian Science Congress. The award consists of Rs.1 lakh and a plaque.

The award was received by P.N. Subramanian, SSM State president, from Prime Minister Manmohan Singh at the inaugural session of 93rd Indian Science Congress held at Acharya N.G. Ranga Agricultural University, Hyderabad on Tuesday.

Swadeshi Science Movement is a voluntary organisation started on November 7 (birthday of Dr. C.V.Raman), 1991, by a group of scientists and technocrats. It conducted innumerable programmes to popularise science. The thrust is on Indian contributions to science and globalisation of Indian sciences like ayurveda, yoga, vedic mathematics, environmental sciences and others.

Two world congresses on ayurveda and ecology were held by the SSM that attracted scientists from over 40 countries.