Three teachers from the State have been selected for the Prof. Joseph Mundassery Smaraka Sahithya Award instituted by the Directorate of Public Instruction for 2011.

Ramesan Blathore from Government HSS, Sreekantapuram, Kannur, gets the award for his book “Perum Al”; Sasidharan Clary from IU Higher Secondary School, Parappur, Malappuram, for the book “Keralathinte Nadanpattukal”; and Rajan Karuvarakunde of Government Higher Secondary School, Karuvarakunde, for the book “Snehacheppu”.

The award, carrying Rs.10,000 and a citation, will be presented at a function to be held in Thiruvananthapuram on September 5 at Cotton Hill Government Girls Higher Secondary School.

The judging committee comprised DPI A. Shajahan, U.K. Kumaran, P.K. Rajasekharan, and K. Suseela, a press release issued here on Saturday said.