Special Correspondent

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee has deferred its move to drop some of the presidents of District Congress Committees on grounds of expediency.

The final decision was taken at the end of a meeting of KPCC office-bearers, Ministers, and Congress legislators here on Monday. The Congress Working Committee member Veerappa Moily, who is in charge of Kerala, attended the meeting. KPCC president Ramesh Chennithala, at a press conference later, confirmed that the existing DCC presidents would continue to hold their post. The DCC presidents of at least four districts had been put on the chopping block. The shifts had been mooted in order to restore social balance in the respective districts, besides making an attempt to revamp the party apparatus, which was considered to be weak in the aftermath of the split in the party.