Government sanctions additional Rs.30 crore

The government has sanctioned an additional drought relief of Rs.30 crore, Revenue Minister Adoor Prakash has said.

He was reviewing the drought situation in the district at a meeting at the Collectorate conference hall here on Friday.

As per the new package various districts would get additional relief as follows — Thiruvananthapuram: Rs.2 crore, Kollam: Rs.2.30 crore, Pathanamthitta: Rs.3 crore, Alappuzha: Rs.2 crore, Kottayam: Rs.2.50 crore, Idukki: Rs.3.09 crore, Ernakulam: Rs.1.80 crore, Thrissur: Rs.1.80 crore, Palakkad: Rs.4.01 crore, Malappuram: Rs.2 crore, Kozhikode: Rs.1.60 crore, Wayanad: Rs.2.10 crore, Kannur: Rs.2.10 crore, and Kasaragod: Rs.1.70 crore.

Earlier, the State government had allotted Rs.85 crore towards drought relief in the 14 districts. This was besides the Rs.92 crore allotted for repair on various water lines across the State, the Minister said.

Mr. Prakash has directed the Water Resources Department to prepare new proposal for drinking water supply in the drought-hit Malayalappuzha panchayat. The Minor Irrigation Department was directed to construct a permanent check dam at Konni-Thazhom.

The Minister said the taluk-level review meetings on the drought situation would be completed by next week itself.


Drought: council pushes for emergency stepsApril 10, 2013