Among different literary genres, children's literature used to be the most neglected lot. But the Kerala State Institute for Children's Literature has put in good efforts to change that, said M.A. Baby, Minister for Education and Culture.

He was speaking after distributing the awards for children's literature at Government Guest House auditorium here on Wednesday. During the last five years, there had been quantitative and qualitative changes in children's literature. We can only go forward from this point, he said.

In his presidential address, writer Sippy Pallippuram said that it has been noticed no quality poetry for children appeared in children's publications these days.

E. Santhosh Kumar was selected for the award in novel/story category for his work Kakkaradesathe Urumbukal, D. Vinayachandran in poetry category for his collection Kakkakarumbu, G. Gangadharan Nair for his collection of plays Trimadhuram, A.K. Varun in scientific writing for his work Pakrutiyatra, T. Gangadharan for his book Varoo, Indiye Kaanam, N.P. Hafiz Mohammed in biography category for his book Mohammed Abdurahiman, N.V.P. Unithiri for his retelling of Ramayanam, T.R. Rajesh in comic category for his book Thalem Kuthi and T.K. Venkitachalam for book design.