Staff Reporter

MAHE: Elections to the Mahe municipal council will be held on June 24.

The notification for holding the civic polls in this outlying territory of Pondicherry was issued on Saturday. Nominations could be filed from June 3 to June 10 except on Sunday. The scrutiny of nominations will take place on June 12. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is June 14. The electors will elect a municipal chairman and 15 councillors.

The municipality, in existence for nearly 200 years, has been without an elected council since 1978. The Regional Executive Officer (REO) of Mahe has been exercising the powers of the municipal chairman in his capacity as Special Officer of the Mahe municipal council.

A press release said REO Krishna Kumar Singh would be the Regional Election Officer and Returning Officer for the civic elections. There are 15 wards out of which five, namely Wards 1 (Parakkal), 3 (Valavil), 5 (Manjakkal), 6A (Cherukallayi) and 8 (Palloor South-West), are reserved for women. There will be 32 booths.

Nomination forms are available at the office of the REO and the offices of the Assistant Returning Officers. Nomination for contesting the chairmanship should be filed before the Returning Officer, while candidates contesting as councillors should file their papers before the Assistant Returning Officers concerned.

The release said the elections would be held with ballot papers. The voter will have to cast two votes, one for the councillor of the ward concerned and the other for the chairman.

A.K. Singh, Secretary (Economics & Statistics) has been appointed election observer for the Mahe region. He will be camping at Mahe after June 15. S.M. Khannaji, Secretary (Elections), will be reaching here soon to oversee the election preparedness.