LDF, UDF had mixed fortunes in Kunnathunadu

R. Ramabhadran Pillai
print   ·   T  T  

V.P. Sajeendran of UDF taking on M.A. Surendran of LDF

Kunnathunadu Assembly constituency where the LDF and UDF have had mixed fortunes in the past, will witness another round of competition between them. The BJP, BSP and SDPI contestants are also ready to test their strength.

Those in the fray are V.P. Sajeendran of Congress, M.A. Surendran of CPI(M), Ravi Manian of BJP, Rajiv of BSP and M.K. Manoj Kumar of the SDPI.

The constituency has undergone a transformation as a reserved one on more than one occasion.

Formed in 1965 as a Scheduled Caste reserved constituency, Kunnathunadu elected K.K. Madhavan of the Congress in the elections held in that year. M.K. Krishna of the CPI(M) won the seat in the 1967 elections while T.A. Paraman of the RSP was elected in 1970. Later, the constituency was reconstituted as a general seat which was won by P.P. Esthos of the CPI(M) in the 1977 elections. Mr. Esthos repeated his victory in 1980.

Congress candidate T.H. Musthafa captured the seat in the 1982 elections. He was elected in 1987 as well as 1991. The 1996 elections was marked by a slender lead to CPI(M) and its candidate M.P. Verghese defeated Mr. Musthafa by 60 votes. It was Mr. Musthafa's turn to defeat Mr. Varghese in the 2001 polls. The CPI(M) wrested the seat in 2006 when M.M. Monaye defeated P.P. Thankachan of the Congress by over 2,000 votes.

The reconstituted Kunnathunadu has become a Scheduled Caste reserved seat once again.

It consists of the grama panchayats of Aikkaranadu, Kizhakambalam, Kunnathunadu, Mazhuvannur, Poothrikka, Thiruvaniyoor, Vadavukod-Puthencruz and Vazhakkulam.

In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, K.P. Dhanapalan of the Congress got a lead of over 12,000 votes in the constituency. The UDF had an upper hand in 7 out of 8 panchayats in the local body polls.




Recent Article in KERALA