With only one day left for submitting nominations, five more candidates, including the Left Democratic Front candidate Joyce George, who is also supported by the High Range Protection Council, submitted their papers on Friday.

The others who submitted their nominations included M. M. Mani, Silvi Sunil, M. N. Ponnappan and Ullas Unni. Mr. George submitted the papers in the presence of CPI(M) district secretary M.M. Mani, CPI district secretary S. Shivarajan and E.S. Bijimol, MLA.

The United Democratic Front (UDF) candidate Dean Kuriakose and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Sabu Varghese submitted their papers on Thursday.

Mr. Kuriakose declared assets to the tune of Rs.3,11719. Mr. Varghese declared assets to the tune of Rs.21 lakh. District Collector Ajit Patil, who inaugurated a training programme for election officials at the collectorate, said the officials should be keen on adhering to the model code of conduct while discharging their duties.