Special Correspondent

KANNUR: A Collectorate march organised by the District Congress Committee (DCC) here on Wednesday to protest against the reinstatement of V.K. Balakrishnan as District Collector drew large number of party activists and leaders, much to the discomfiture of the camp loyal to party leader K. Sudhakaran, MP, who abstained from the protest alleging that the decision to hold the march had been taken by a section of leadership supporting DCC president P. Ramakrishnan.

The march was attended by large number of party workers and leaders including K.C. Joseph, MLA, former Ministers N. Ramakrishnan, K.P. Nooruddin, A.D. Musthafa, P.P. Lakshmanan and Mambaram Divakaran.

The decision to hold the march was at the centre of a row in the party leadership here following the move by the Sudhakaran camp to exert pressure on the Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) to postpone the march alleging that the decision had been endorsed by only 16 of the 42 DCC members.

They said that the meeting of the committee that had taken the decision had been attended by leaders opposed to Mr. Sudhakaran.

Both the Sudhakaran and the anti-Sudhakaran camps had been at loggerheads over Mr. Ramakrishnan’s statement following the announcement of the Kannur Assembly byelection results that the victory of A.P. Abdullakutty belonged to all Congress workers and not just to Mr. Sudhakaran as had been portrayed in the media.