Sociopreneur 2011, the annual business plan competition conducted by the Entrepreneurship Cell of the Model Engineering College, Bank of India and Yi-Net MEC, drew a discerning crowd interested in promoting ideas for sustainable social ventures.

The Fishing Four from Kolkata, comprising Sreerupa Chowdhury, Varun Kumar Mishra, Abira Nath and Samantak Bhadra, bagged the Sociopreneur 2011 title, along with a cash prize of Rs. 30,000.

The event sought to build upon the success of the inaugural edition of Sociopreneur in 2010, which was won by the Biz Rockers from Christ University Institute of Management, Bangalore. The 2011 edition was sponsored by the Bank of India, in association with IBS.

The event was also sponsored by IGS, while the media partners for the event were KnowAFest, YuvaFront and CochinSquare.