Many hearts have been rendering the immortal melodies composed by veteran composer K. Raghavan. For the nonagenarian musician, on whom awards have rained in the past, it was another honour as the Kerala Sangeetha Nataka Akademi presented the Gurupooja award at ‘Sharavana,’ his residence, on Thursday.

Minister for Agriculture K.P. Mohanan presented the award and the composer was felicitated along with 20 other artists. Akademi Chairman Soorya Krishnamurthy presided over the function. Kodiyeri Balakrishnan, MLA, was the chief guest. Muthukulam Somanath, M.K. Soudaminiamma, Kalamandalam Radhamani, Kudamaloor Appukkuttan, and Thakazhi Omana were among the others who received the award.

Department of Culture Principal Secretary Sajan Peter; AIR Head of Programmes Balachandran Koyyal; akademi Secretary P.V. Krishnan Nair; and executive committee members Baby V. Mundadan and Mohan G. Venpuzhasseri spoke.