‘Pazhassi Raja' has won the award for the best film instituted by Jai Hind Television. Mammootty who played the lead role in the film has won the award for the best actor too.

The jury headed by Congress leader Pandalam Sudhakaran and comprising Thalekunnil Basheer and director Rajasenan, selected Blessy, who directed ‘Bhramaram' as the best director. Swetha Menon won the award for the best female actor for her role in ‘Paaleri Manikkam.' Renjith won the award for the best scenarist for the screenplay of ‘Paaleri Manikkam.' Salim Kumar is the best comedian and Prithviraj the youth icon.

Manoj K. Jayan (Pazhassi Raja) won the award for the best supporting actor and Samvrutha Sunil for the female supporting actor for her roles in ‘Bhoomi Malayalam,' and ‘Neelathamara.' The awards for debutant artistes went to Archana Kavi and Kailash for their roles in ‘Neelathamara.' Sreekumar who rendered the song ‘Anuraga vilochananayi…' in the film is the best male playback singer. The song also won the award for the best lyricist to Vayalar Sarathchandra Varma. K.S. Chitra was adjudged the best female singer for the song ‘Kunnathe konnakkum…' in ‘Pazhassi Raja.'

Jagathy Sreekumar won the award for anti-hero for his role in ‘Passenger.' Mohan Sithara won the best music director award for the songs in ‘Bhramaram.'

The Jai Hind Chalachitra Ratna Award will be presented to Mohanlal and Jai Hind Patriotic Pride Award to Sarath Kumar. The Chalachitra Prathiba Award will be given to Sreenivasan and Special Jury Award to Kalabhavan Mani for his role in ‘Aayirathil Oruvan.'

The awards will be presented in Thrissur on August 3. The prominent film personalities hailing from Thrissur like Yusufali Kecheri, Sathyan Anthikkad, Innocent, Kamal, KPAC Lalitha, P.T. Kunhumohammed, T.G. Ravi, Vidyadharan and V.K. Sreeraman will be honoured at the function.

Special Correspondent