Staff Reporter

Setting of list of candidates' names in the machines on Monday

Thiruvananthapuram: Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) for the Assembly elections will be handed over to the returning officers of the 14 constituencies in the district on Sunday.

The officials will receive the machines from the Office of the Stationery Controller and transfer them to the counting centres in each constituency where they will be kept under tight police security.

The work of setting the list of candidates' names in the machines will begin at 8 a.m. on Monday. The returning officer in each constituency will set the list in the presence of the candidates or their representatives.

District Collector N. Ayyappan on Saturday directed all the candidates in the district to file their expenditure accounts every three days. Mr. Ayyappan said the returning officers in all the 14 constituencies had reported failure on the part of candidates to file their statements in time. The observers appointed by the Election Commission had also reported this lapse. The Collector said candidates who fail to submit accounts would invite disqualification under the provisions of the Representation of People's Act.

The candidates are also required to keep a register of expenditure accounts and produce them for periodic inspection by election officials. The expense incurred on the construction of stages and barricades for campaign meetings will also be charged to the candidates' account.

An official press release issued here on Saturday said election duty orders for Government employees had been sent to the respective offices. Officials who do not receive the order within Monday will be reported and disciplinary action initiated against them. The Collector also requested Government employees not to canvas votes.

Mr. Ayyappan said training for officials on election duty would be held on Tuesday and Wednesday. The following is the list of constituencies and training centres: Varkala - Town UPS; Attingal - Municipal Town Hall; Kilimanoor - Attingal Girls HSS; Vamanapuram - Girls Higher Secondary School, Nedumangad; Aryanad - Panchayat Association Hall, Vellayambalam; Nedumangad - Priyadarsini Hall, East Fort; Kazhakuttam - HSS, Kazhakuttam; Thiruvananthapuram North - Mar Ivanios College; Thiruvananthapuram West - Manacaud Teacher Training Institute; Thiruvananthapuram East - Swati Tirunal Music College, Thycaud; Nemom - Government HSS, Balaramapuram; Kovalam - Girls HSS, Neyyattinkara; Neyyattinkara - Swadesabhimani Town Hall; Parassala - Vanasree auditorium, Forest Office, Vazhuthacaud.