Staff Reporter

‘The late communist leader laid the foundation for State’s development’

Tributes paid to EMS at memorial meet

More land sought for EMS library

KOCHI: Minister for Local Self-Government Paloli Mohammed Kutty said here on Monday that the 1957 Communist government led by E.M.S. Namboodiripad had laid the foundation for the development of Kerala.

The Minister was speaking at a memorial organised on the 10th death anniversary of the former Chief Minister of Kerala.

The function was organised by the EMS Memorial Library, Thrikkakara. It was sponsored by the Ernakulam District Cooperative Bank.

The Minister said EMS was a leader who had the ability to analyse any situation and act appropriately. He had made important and lasting contributions towards development of the State.

President of Ernakulam District Cooperative Bank M.M. Monaye said the EMS Library, during the last seven years of its existence, had grown in stature as one of the best memorials to a personality whose influence continues to this day. Even newspapers that had attacked EMS showered praises on him now, he said.

Mr. Monaye said the EMS Library had about 6,500 members and a collection of 70,000 books. He requested the Minister to speed up the decision on an application by the District Cooperative Bank for an additional 25 cents of land for a new library building. He said the District Cooperative Bank would pay the price fixed by the Greater Cochin Development Authority for the land being sought for the extension of the library.

M. E. Hassainar, chairman of the reception committee for the programme welcomed the gathering. Gopi Kottamurikkal, CPI(M) district secretary, delivered the keynote address. V. P. Shasheendran, vice-president of Ernakulam District Cooperative Bank; C.K. Pareed, Kalamassery area secretary of the CPI(M); Sabitha Kareem, president of Thrikkakara grama panchayat; P.M. Ikkoran, president, Edappally block panchayat; and Sreedevi Gopinath, member of Thrikkakara grama panchayat; were among those present. C. Bhanu, general manager, Ernakulam District Cooperative Bank, proposed a vote of thanks.