Pathanamthitta district panchayat president Babu George and vice-president P. Vijayamma will step down on February 8 as per a pre-election agreement reached within the Congress-led United Democratic Front.

Mr. George and Ms. Vijayamma told The Hindu that the district planning committee meeting scheduled for February 7 would discuss the annual plan of the panchayat for 2012-’13.

Saji Chacko and K.G. Anitha will take charge as the president and vice-president respectively of the district panchayat for the next 18 months. Haridas Edathitta and Sosamma Thomas will be the president and vice-president respectively during the final one year period of the five-year term of the district panchayat as per the arrangement made within the UDF.