Cricket fever grips election arena

Staff Reporter
print   ·   T  T  

CPI leader Pannyan Raveendran joined the cricket euphoria when he wished the Indian team a stunning victory while campaigning at Puthenvelikara on Saturday afternoon.

Mr. Raveendran, who is the Left Democratic Front (LDF) candidate in North Paravur, was elaborating on the achievements of the Left Front government at an election meeting when India began its bowling attack against the Lankans at the Wankhade stadium. “Like all others, I am also hoping that India will emerge victorious in this historic final,” Mr. Raveendran said while greeting a group of voters in the region.

A die-hard cricket fan, the CPI leader had lost no time to join the celebrations when India beat Pakistan in the exciting semi-final held at Mohali on Wednesday. He had watched India's batting along with party workers at a club near Thuruthipuram market at Vadakkekara.

But Mr. Raveendran made it clear that his campaign will not lose its tempo even though India was playing in the final on Saturday. The election battle remained top on his agenda, as he stepped up his fight against V.D. Satheesan, United Democratic Front (UDF) candidate in the constituency.

For C. Rajagopal (Muthu), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate in the Ernakulam constituency, the final clash between India and Sri Lanka provided a friendly break from the hectic campaign. Most of his party workers were busy watching the final on television. “I also watched the initial overs while having lunch at home. There is no doubt that India will lift the World Cup,” he said. Mr. Rajagopal knew that several Kochiites would remain glued to their television sets on Saturday watching the final. The candidate made a few personal visits and requests over telephone, as he did not want to disturb the cricket enthusiasts. Hours after the candidates wound up their campaign for the day, the Indian team won the World Cup.




Recent Article in KERALA

Kanam elected CPI Kerala secretary

Kanam Rajendran, national executive committee member of the CPI, has been elected new secretary of its Kerala unit at the 22nd State conf... »