Staff Reporter

KOCHI: Ramban Kaliyinkal Plathottam Thengumtharayil Geevarghese was consecrated Bishop Geevarghese Mar Barnabas on Monday at the Patriarchal Centre, Puthenkurisu, at an impressive ceremony led by Cathlicos Baselios Thomas I.

Synod Secretary Joseph Mar Gregorios; Bishops Mathews Mar Ivanios; Mathews Mar Aphrem; Kuriakose Mar Cleemis; Elias Mar Athanasios; Mathews Mar Thevedesios and Abraham Mar Severios were among those who participated in the consecration ceremonies.

Dominic Presentation, MLA, inaugurated a meeting immediately after the consecration to felicitate the new bishop.

K. P. Dhanapalan, MP and MLAs K. Babu; Saju Paul; M. M. Monaye; M. J. Jacob and T. U. Kuruvilla; UDF Convener P. P. Thankachan and former MLA T. H. Mushtaffa were also present at the felicitation meeting.