The Bharatiya Janata Party will announce its candidate for the byelection from the Piravom Assembly constituency in a few days.

Though the party has shortlisted State general secretary A.N. Radhakrishnan and Ernakulam district president P.J. Thomas for the seat, both have expressed their unwillingness to enter the fray. So, the party is considering others such as Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha leader V.V. Rajesh and Rajagopalan of Perumbavoor. Other names under consideration include that of Mahila Morcha State president Sobha Surendran and M.N. Madhu, who had contested from Piravom in the Assembly polls last year.

Party sources said its Central leadership would take a decision on the candidate in a day or two. The party leadership was meeting on Wednesday for deliberations. In case the matter could not be decided by then, it could be decided on Wednesday.

The party did not want to announce the candidate early because of the expenditure involved in organising a long campaign.