Staff Reporter

VS allays fears on local bodies’ role in education

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Chief Minister V.S. Achuthanandan has allayed apprehensions that the involvement of local bodies in the governance of educational institutions would lead to a decline in educational standards. He was speaking at the Government Model School, Thycaud, on Wednesday after giving away awards to the best teachers in primary and secondary schools in the State.

Terming allegations against the move as “baseless,” the Chief Minister said the role of local bodies in the educational sector will be “limited to supplying drinking water and preparing noon meals.”

Urging teachers to take up challenges posed by globalisation, Mr. Achuthanandan said that the role of teacher was in the process of constant change.

MNC ‘threat’

Multinational companies today dictate terms to educators on what is to be taught in class rooms.Minister for Education M.A. Baby said the Government would institute awards for higher secondary and vocational higher secondary school teachers in the State from next year.

“Disciples who fondly remember their educators are the greatest reward a teacher can receive,” Mr. Baby said to applause from the teachers assembled at the school.

As many as 27 teachers belonging to the primary and secondary sections from various parts of the State were honoured on the occasion. Following are the award winners: Primary Section; P. Valsala Kumari, headmistress, Government UPS, Konchiravila, Thiruvananthapuram; A. Jacinta, headmistress, St. Leogory’s LPS, Kovilthottam, Kollam; N.A. Xavier, St. Augustine’s LPS, Aroor, Alappuzha; K.A. Punnen, GPS, Thiruvanchoor, Kottayam; P.S. Dominic, Calvery H.S., Idukki; M. Subramanian, GLPS, Neeleswaram, Ernakulam; A.K. Salim Kumar, AMLPS, Thrissur; E.V. Elias, GUPS, Bheemanad, Palakkad; K.V. Unnikrishnan, GMLPS, Puthalam, Malappuram; Nirmala Mathew, St. Antony’s AUPS, Kozhikode; K.C. Joseph, Moonlight LPS, Mundakkutty; K.V. Sathiavathi, Perumacheri AUPS, Kannur, M. Soorya Moorthi, Vorkady, Kapiri ALPS, Kasaragod.

Secondary section: C.T. Marykutty, Government City HSS, P.K. Vijayakumari, Government H.S., Kulasekharapuram; Soosamma Mathew, Government VHSS, Aranmula, Pathanamthitta; M. Chacko, St. Alosious HSS, Edathua, Alappuzha; V.T. Geetha, GHSS, Kulasekharamangalam; K.J. Mary, GTHSS, Poomala, Idukki; P.K. Thrsiamma, St. Paul’s HS, Mutholapuram, Ernakulam; Unnikrishnan, RMVHS, Perinjanam, Thrissur; V.V. Neelkandan, TSNMHS, Palakkad; P. Rajamohanan, GMHSS, Malappuram; K. Abdullah Yoosuf, MGHSS, Elatti; K.P. Vijay, GHSS, Wayanad; K. Krishnan, Rajeev Gandhi Memorial H.S., Mokeri, Kannur; K.K. Kumaran, GVHSS, Kasaragod.