Staff Reporter

Based on the most innovative method of teaching

KANNUR: Awards for three outstanding teachers in the Kannur educational district have been instituted by the Ajith Balakrishnan Foundation (ABF) in association with the North Malabar Chamber of Commerce (NMCC).

Announcing this at a press conference here on Saturday chairman and managing director Ajith Balakrishnan of the ABF and NMCC president C. Jayachandran said that the awards were being instituted under the primary, secondary and high school categories each in the Kannur educational district, including Kannur South and North. The awards will carry a cash prize of Rs.1 lakh each, they said.

The ABF, founded by Mr. Balakrishnan, who is also a member of NASSCOM, is engaged in creating awareness among the youth on the possibilities available in Information and Technology sector and to promote studies and research in science and technology. It has been providing financial assistance for research in biotechnology in the Sree Narayana College here and computer studies in the Sir Syed College, Taliparamba.


Explaining the modalities for selecting the teachers for the awards, Renu Balakrishnan of the ABF said that the criteria for the award will be based on the most innovative method of teaching adopted by the teacher. The applications should be accompanied by the matters relating to the methods adopted by the teachers in preparing a lesson and the various methods used by them to explain it in the classroom.

The applicants should also attach biographical profile, experience and educational qualifications, she said. The application should be in 1,000 words and corroborated by three teachers from the same school and the head of the institution concerned. The applications will be available from schools or the office of the NMCC here, she said. Each school could submit any number of applications in each category, Ms. Balakrishnan added. The applicants should register their names before June 30.