Staff Reporter

KATTAPPANA: Twenty eight grama panchayats in Idukki district have been selected for the Nirmal Puraskar instituted by the President for notable steps taken by the local bodies in keeping hygiene and healthy atmosphere. The selected grama panchayats are Erattayar, Kattappana, Kanchiyar, Chakkupallam and Ayyappancoil under Kattappana block panchayat, Rajakumari, Rajakkad, Udumpanchola, Senapathy, Nedumkandam, Pampadumpara and Karunapuram under Nedumkandam block panchayat, Kumaramangalam and Karimkunnam under Thodupuzha block panchayat, Vathikudy, Mariyapuram, Kamakshy, Kanjikuzhy, Vazhathoppe and Arakkulam under Idukki block panchayat, Pallivasal, Adimaly, Vellathooval and Bison Valley under Adimaly block panchayat, Udumpannur, Muttom and Velliyamattom under Eladesam block panchayat and Peruvanthanam under Azhutha block panchayat.

The grama panchayats are eligible to receive a cash money of Rs. 5 lakh and a citation. The panchayats were selected on the basis of project implementation in connection with waste removal from public places and houses, cleanliness measures in schools and anganwadis, and public hygiene facilities available in the grama panchayats.

An inquiry related to the implementation of projects for public health was conducted to select the panchayats.

The prizes will be distributed by President Pratibha Patil at a function in Pune on December 8.