Journalists Karan Thapar, ( CNN IBN ), J. Gopi Krishnan ( The Pioneer ), and N.P. Rajendran ( Mathrubhumi ) were selected for the C.H. Mohammed Koya memorial media award instituted jointly by the C.H. Mohammed Koya Trust and the Calicut Press Club.

Mr. Thapar was selected for the award comprising Rs.1, 11,111 and a citation for his contribution to the field of television journalism. Mr. Gopi Krishnan and Mr. Rajendran were selected for for their contribution to the print media. The award would be given away at a function in Kozhikode next month, a press release said.