: The 18 {+t} {+h} anniversary celebration of All Kerala Mappila Sangeetha Academy (AKMSA) will be held at the Town Hall here on November 14. Devaswom Minister Kadannappally Ramachandran will inaugurate the programme at 5 p.m.

Talking to reporters here on Monday, State president of the Academy P.A. Hamsa said the Academy's annual awards will be distributed on the occasion. The P. Bhaskaran Award will be presented to poet and lyricist K. Jayakumar while the Monisha Award will be presented to actor Urvashi.

The other awardees are singers Peer Muhammed (Moyinkutty Vaidyar Award), Vineeth Sreenivasan (M.S. Baburaj award) and Rimi Tomy (G. Devarajan award).

Film director Hariharan will give away the awards during the function.

Mayor A.K. Premajam will present the mementos, M.K. Raghavan, MP, will give away the certificates and MLA A. Pradeep Kumar, the shawls. District Collector P.B. Salim will give away the prizes to the winners of the Malabar Kalamela.

State general secretary of the Academy K.M.K.Vellayil, secretary and programme coordinator N. Basheer, treasurer T.M. Salim and working president Abdulla Koya were present at the press meet.