Staff Reporter

Thiruvananthapuram: The

Kerala Film Critics Association’s Atlas Film Critics Award 2009 for the Best Film has been awarded to the films ‘Kerala Varma Pazhassi Raja’ and ‘Ividam Swargamaanu.’

Hariharan, who directed ‘Pazhassi Raja,’ was adjudged the best director.

The awards were declared by association president Thekkinkadu Joseph and secretary Mannarakkayam Baby at a press conference here on Friday.

The producers of ‘Pazhassi Raja’ and ‘Ividam Swargamaanu,’ Gokulam Gopalan and Antony Perumbavoor, respectively, will receive a cash prize of Rs.50,000 each, while the best director will get Rs.25,000.

The best actor award was bagged by Innocent for his role in ‘Pathaam Nilayile Theevandi,’ while Kaniha won the best female actor award in ‘Bhagya Devatha.’ Each will receive a cash prize of Rs.25,000.

Actor Jagathy Sreekumar will be given the Chalachitra Ratna award for his overall contributions to Malayalam films. He will get a cash prize of Rs.30,000 and a citation.

‘Paleri Maanikyam – Oru Paathira Kolapaathakathinte Katha,’ directed by Renjith and produced by Mahasubair and A.V. Anoop, was selected the second best movie. The other awards declared by the Film Critics Association are the following:

Second Best Actor: Pasupathi (‘Vairam’), Second Best Female Actor: Shweta Menon (‘Madhyavenal’ and ‘Paleri Maanikyam’), Best Child Actor: Baby Nivedita (‘Bhramaram’), Best Storywriter: Cheriyan Kalpakavadi (‘Bharya Swantham Suhruth’), Best Scriptwriter: James Albert (‘Ividam Swargamaanu’), Best Lyricist: Shibu Chakravarthi (‘Pathaam Nilayile Theevandi’), Best Music Director: Sreenivas (‘Seetha Kalyanam’), Best Male Playback Singer: Madhu Balakrishnan (‘Pathaam Nilayile Theevandi’), Best Female Playback Singer: Jyotsna (‘Nayanam’).

Apart from a host of awards for technical excellence, Reema Kallingal and Archana Kavi were declared the Best New Talents for their performances in ‘Rithu’ and ‘Neelathaamara’ respectively.

‘Neelathaamara’ and ‘Passenger’ were chosen the best popular movies.

The Best New Director award was shared by Roy (‘Kanmazha Peyyumbol’) and Santhosh (‘Nizhal’).

Actor Raghavan, director Venu Nagavalli and playback singer Sujatha Mohan were honoured with Chalachitra Prathibha award for their varied contributions over the years to the Malayalam film industry.

The Special Jury awards declared by the association are the following: Manoj K. Jayan for his roles in ‘Madhyavenal’ and ‘Thoovalkaattu’; Anwar Rasheed for his film ‘Bridge: Kerala Café’, Madhu Kaithapram’s ‘Madhyavenal’ and M.A. Nishad’s ‘Vairam’ as films with social relevance and commitment.