Staff Reporter

KOLLAM: The Sathyan Memorial Film Awards for 2009 were announced here on Tuesday.

Veteran actor Madhu gets the award for his contributions to Malayalam films and Oscar Award winner Resul Pookutty has been chosen for a special award.

This was announced by actor Kalpana, who is a judging committee member for selecting the award winners.

The winners are Sarath Kumar and Manoj K. Jayan (best actor - male) and Padmapriya and Archana Kavi (best actor - female). Innocent, Kaviyur Ponnamma and Rehman have been chosen for special awards. Gokulam Gopalan is the best producer. M.G. Sreekumar is the best singer (male) and Gayatri the best singer (female).

V.G. Muralikrishnan is the best supporting actor (male) and Rima Kallingal the best supporting actor (female).

The awards have been instituted by the Sathyan Memorial Arts and Sports Club at Mamood here.

Club president A. Sharafudeen said that the Rotaray District Governor K.S. Sasikumar had been selected for the best social welfare award and Nissar Syed for the best media award.

The awards will be presented by Ministers P.K. Gurudasan and N.K. Premachandran at a function at the club grounds on February 10.