Actor Mohanlal has bagged the Kerala Film Critics award for the best actor for 2012. He bagged the award for his role in ‘Pranayam.' The film produced by P.K. Sajeev has won the award for the best film, and its director Blessy was adjudged the best director.

Film Critics Association president Thekkinkad Jose announced the awards at a press conference here on Thursday. Poet O.N.V. Kurup has been selected for the ‘Chalachitra Ratna' award. Rima Kallingal has won the award for the best female actor for her role in ‘Indian Rupee.' The best film award carries a purse of Rs.50,000, citation and memento. The best actor, female actor, director and second best film awards carry Rs.25,000 and a memento each.

‘Urumi' produced by August Cinema and directed by Santhosh Sivan was selected as the second best film. Anoop Menon won the second best actor award for his performances in ‘Traffic' and ‘Pranayam.' The second best female actor award winner is Lena, for the films ‘Traffic,' and ‘Athe Mazha Athe Veyil.' The best scriptwriter award was shared by Bobby and Sanjay for ‘Traffic.'

Rajiv Alunkal and M.G. Sreekumar won the best lyricist and best music director awards respectively, for the film ‘Arabeem,Ottakom, P. Madhavan Nairum'.

Vidhu Prathap won the best male singer award for ‘Oomakkuyil Paadumbol' and Manjari became the best female singer for ‘Urumi'.

Santhosh Sivan has been selected the best cinematographer award for ‘Urumi.'

‘Indian Rupee' directed by Ranjith won the most popular film award. Prithviraj won a Special Jury award for his performance in ‘Urumi' and ‘Indian Rupee.'

The other awards are: best child artist(girl)—Malavika (‘Oomakkuyil Padumbol'); best child artist(boy)—Ashwin (‘Athe Mazha Athe Veyil); best editing—DONMAX (Chappakurisu); best recording—Ananda Babu(‘Urumi'); best debutant director—Siddique Chendamangalloor (‘Oomakkuyil Padumbol'); best debutant artist—Shaji Idappal(‘Athe Mazha Athe Veyil'). Janardhanan, N.L. Balakrishnan, and Thodupuzha Vasanthi have been selected as ‘Chalachithra Prathiba.'

‘Cinemayude Adayalangal' written by M.D. Manoj has been selected the best cinema reference book.

‘Thirakatha' got special mention from the jury.

‘Janakeeya Badal Cinema Nirmanam Sadhyathakalum Velluvilikalum,' an article by Chacko C.Anthikad, has been selected as the best feature on cinema. The film ‘Oomakkuyil Padumbol' won special jury award. Manarkad Mathew won the C.K. Soman award for best journalist in the film field.

‘Urumi' directed by Santhosh Sivan was adjudged as the second best film.