Staff Reporter

They call for completion of works

PALAKKAD: The Members of Parliament under the Palakkad and Thiruvananthapuram railway divisions has demanded a railway zone for the State.

They raised the demand at a meeting called by the Southern Railway as part of a policy directive on railway development. The 14 MPs who attended the meeting unanimously demanded a zone for the State. They also demanded completion of the doubling work under way in the divisions.

They wanted the authorities to complete the work of railway overbridges and demanded more amenities in their constituencies.

A.V. Bellarmin, MP from Nagercoil, also attended the meeting. The MPs who attended the meeting included Varkala Radhakrishnan, Pannian Raveendran, C.K. Chandrappan, N.N. Krishnadas, S. Ajayakumar, Suresh Kurup, Abdullah Kutty and C.S. Sujatha.

The police earlier arrested 14 Yuva Morcha workers who forced their way into the conference hall at Sree Chakara Hotel, where the meeting began in the morning. They tried to disrupt the meeting and snatched away papers from the MPs.

They were protesting against the move to bifurcate the Palakkad Railway Division.