Staff Reporter

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: In the presences of hundreds of film lovers and dozens of dignitaries, the Asianet-Ujala film awards-2005 were presented at a ceremony organised at the Chandrasekharan Nair stadium on Sunday night.

Asianet managing director K. Madhavan presented actress Sukumari the `Lifetime Achievement Award' for accomplishments in the cinema field.

Actors Vikram, Khushboo, Simran, Priya Raman, Sindhu Menon and Jagadeesh were among the special invitees to the show.

P.V. Gangadharan and Sathyan Anthikkad, the producer and director respectively of `Achuvinte Amma' that was selected as the best film, director Blessy, actors Mohanlal and Meera Jasmine, supporting actors Nedumudi Venu and Bhavana, playwright Sreenivasan, lyricist Kaithappram Damodaran Namboodiri, music director M. G. Radhakrisnan, playback singer M. G. Sreekumar, child artiste Baby Niranjana, `new face of the year' Meera Vasudev and Arjunlal, cinematographer S. Kumar, sound recordist Shaji Madhavan and editor Ranjan Abraham were given the `best' awards in the respective categories.

The award ceremony was followed by a cultural programme in which many leading artistes participated.

They included Shobhana, Reema Sen, Jyothirmayi, Rahas, Meghna Naidu, singers M. G. Sreekumar, Madhu Balakrishnan, Vidhu Prathap, K.S. Chithra, Manjari, Jazzie Gift and `Pop' Shalini.

Music director Balabhaskar led a team of musicians in performing fusion music. A number of skits were also presented on the occasion.

The whole programme was directed by Asianet's Event Management Team led by R. Sreekantan Nair.

Asianet will telecast a recording of this event on March 26, a press note issued at Thiruvananthapuram said.