Lifetime achievement award for Sukumari

print   ·   T  T  
HONOURS: Sukumari and Jagathy Sreekumar.
HONOURS: Sukumari and Jagathy Sreekumar.

Staff Reporter

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The Sathyan Anthikad film `Achuvinte Amma, which proved a runaway hit with Malayali audiences, has bagged the Asianet-Ujala Award, 2005, for the best picture.

Veteran actress Sukumari will be specially honoured at the awards ceremony to be held the Chandrasekharan Nair stadium on march 19, for a lifetime of achievements in the film industry. Jagathy Sreekumar will get a special jury award for his roles in `Udayananu Tharam' and `Thanmatra.'

The awards were announced at a press conference here on Saturday by Asianet managing director K. Madhavan.

While his movie `Thanmatra' fetched Blessy the award for the best director, that film, along with `Udayananu Tharam,' also fetched Mohanlal the best actor award and Nedumudi Venu the award for the best character actor.

The award for the best actress went to Meera Jasmine for her role as Achu in `Achuvinte Amma.' Bhavana bagged the award for the best character actress for her role in the film `Daivanamathil.' The award for the best playwright went to Srinivasan for `Udayananu Tharam.'

The song Thiranurayum... in the movie `Anandabhadram' landed M.G. Radhakrishnan the award for the best music director, while the song Thankamanassu got for Kaithrappram Damodaran Namboodiri the award for the best lyricist. The songs Pinakkamano Inakkamano... and Mindathedi Kuyile... from `Anandabhadram' and `Thanmatra' respectively got for M.G. Sreekumar the award for the best male playback singer. K.S. Chithra was selected as the best female playback singer for her song Enthu Paranjalum... in `Achuvinte Amma.'

Baby Ninranjana gets the award for the best child artiste for her roles in `Thanmatra,' `Naran' and `Bharatchandran IPS.'

Meera Vasudev has been selected as the best new face of the year (female) for her role in `Thanmatra' and Arjun Lal as the best new face of the year (male) for his role in the same film.

The awardees were selected from the entries sent in by Asianet subscribers and by a jury panel. The awards have a cash prize, a citation and a plaque. The best film will get Rs.1,25,000, while the best director, best actor and actress and the best character actor and actress will get Rs.50,000 each. The best playwright will get Rs.25,000 as will the best lyricist, the best playback singers and the best child artiste.

The special jury award has a cash prize of Rs.25,000 while the lifetime award, Rs. 50,000. The best `new faces' will get Rs.10,000 each.




Recent Article in KERALA

The illegally converted portion of the natural stream, Karimaramthodu, in Aranmula.— Photo: Leju Kamal

Natural stream at Aranmula to be restored

Waterbody was illegally converted by KGS group for airport »