Staff Reporter

List of sensitive booths in district likely to be ready today

KOCHI: Preparations for the second phase of the Assembly elections are nearing completion. On Saturday, the district election authorities made final arrangements for the despatch of postal ballot papers even as electronic voting machines (EVMs) and ballots to be used in it have been readied and distributed to the 14 Returning Officers.

The EVMs will be set on Tuesday and Wednesday, it is learnt. With this, preparations will reach the final phase and have moved smoothly so far.

Training for some more polling officials, especially those who could not attend the training last week, will be held on Monday at the Maharaja's College Centenary Hall.

Meanwhile, the list of sensitive and vulnerable booths in Ernakulam district are being prepared ahead of the elections to the Assembly in the second phase on April 29.

The list is likely to be ready by Sunday, it is learnt.

A meeting of the election observers with the Superintendent of Police, City Police Commissioner and other officials as well as with the district administration had reviewed the security arrangements and the law and order situation on Friday.

General observers

Gautam Chatterjee is observer for Ernakulam and Mattancherry constituencies; Vinod Agrawal is observer for Paravoor and Njarakkal; Chadrashekhar Chattopadhyay is observer for Angamaly and Vadakkekara; Mandeep Singh Sandhu is observer for Aluva and Perumbavoor; Ashok Kumar Yadav is observer for Palluruthy and Thripunithura; Balraj Singh is observer for Piravom and Kothamangalam; and Vivek Kumar Singh is observer for Kunnathunad and Moovattupuzha.

Expenditure observers

C.S. Bakshi is observer for Mattancherry, Palluruthy, Thripunithura, Aluva and Perumbavoor. Virender Kumar is observer for Angamaly, Vadakkekkara, Paravoor, Njarakkal and Ernakulam.

Kusum Gopal Ingle is observer for Kunnanthunadu, Piravom, Moovattupuzha and Kothamangalam.