Staff Reporter

DIC(K) members vote for Congress candidate

THRISSUR: M.R. Radhakrishnan of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI-M) was elected chairman of the Chavakkad Municipality on Wednesday. Mr. Radhakrishnan polled 19 votes. His rival, K. Navas of the Congress, polled only eight votes. Interestingly, members of the Democratic Indira Congress (Karunakaran) (DIC-K), which had won the last local body elections in alliance with the CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF), voted for the Congress nominee in the municipal chairman's election.

The election to the post was necessitated following the demise of K.P. Valsalan of the CPI(M). Valsalan was killed last month.

Meanwhile, Leader of the Opposition and CPI(M) Polit Bureau member V.S. Achuthanandan visited the house of Valsalan to share his grief with the bereaved family.

Talking to reporters later, Mr. Achuthanandan said the IUML should realise that violent politics would not yield anything.

The CPI(M) leaders and activists were observing restraint to prevent further violence, he said.

Mr. Achuthanandan said the IUML leadership was in a state of panic after the defeat of the party nominee at Manjeri in the last Lok Sabha elections and the large-scale flow of Muslims to the CPI(M). He alleged that the IUML was unleashing violence against the CPI(M) to stem the flow of people to the CPI(M).